Town History & Data

For Annual Town Reports, Auditor's Reports, and other documents, please view the Selectmen's page.


Southeastern Massachusetts. Rockland is approximately 20 miles from Boston; 8 miles from Brockton, and is bordered by the following towns:

  • North by Weymouth and Hingham
  • East by Norwell and Hanover
  • South by Hanson
  • West by Whitman and Abington


YearFederal CensusTown Census

Miscellaneous Statistics

  • Altitude: Highest: 180 feet above mean sea level
    • Lowest: 92.73 feet above mean sea level
  • Annual Town Election: Second Saturday in April, Annual
  • County: Plymouth
  • First Settled: The Town first settled around 1673 - formerly the northeast section of Abington
  • Population was 4,000 when incorporated under its present name
  • Incorporated: March 9, 1874. (Acts of 1874, Chapter 44)
  • Land Area: 10.07 Square miles
  • Latitude / Longitude: North 420 8 m, West 700 55 m
  • Miles of Streets: 61.5 miles
  • Name: Rockland derived its name geologically from its rocky nature - A “large rock” is mentioned in the description of the Town Seal
  • Number of Parcels: 5,600
  • Topographic Characteristics: Gently rolling terrain with one hill (Beech Hill) in the south which rises to about 180 feet, which is 80 feet above general local elevation of 100 feet above mean sea level - Rockland is highest point of land in Plymouth County
  • Total Registered Voters: As of December 31, 2016 - 12,222
  • Town Charter: Adopted March 8, 1969 at Annual Town Election - Charter became effective on January 1, 1970
  • Town Meeting: A date to be determined by the Board of Selectmen not later than January 31 each year
  • Town Seal: For a complete description of Town Seal, see Town of Rockland By-Laws, Article XXVIII, Section 28.02
  • Type of Government: Open Town Meeting
  • U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Plates: Rockland is shown on Whitman and Weymouth Quadrangles - Rockland is included in the following areas and districts:
    • Boston Metropolitan Area
    • Fifth Plymouth State Representative District
    • Fourth Councillor District
    • Norfolk & Plymouth Senate District
    • Tenth Massachusetts Congressional District